Candidates gear up for Aug. 11 runoff

Following DeKalb County Voter Registration and Elections June 25 certification of results from the June 9 elections, several candidates are now gearing up for an Aug. 11 runoff. 

Early voting is scheduled to begin July 20 for the General Election Primary, Nonpartisan Election and Special Election runoffs. Absentee ballots can now be requested and completed online at Applications may be submitted online to or sent via mail to the DeKalb County Elections and Voter Registration Office, 4380 Memorial Drive, Suite 300, Decatur, GA 30032. 

The following DeKalb County races will appear on the ballot:

DeKalb County Sheriff

In the special election for sheriff, incumbent Melody Maddox is up against Ruth Stringer. The two candidates were the top vote-getters in the nine-candidate field. Maddox received 65,246 votes, or 39.61 percent, and Stringer received 24,901 votes, or 15.12 percent. The winner of the runoff will only serve through Dec. 31, filling the unexpired term of Jeffrey Mann, who resigned in November 2019. 

For the full four-year sheriff term which begins Jan. 1, Maddox will face sole Republican candidate Harold Dennis in November General Election.

DeKalb County Superior Court Judge (Stone Mountain Judicial Circuit)

Yolanda Parker-Smith will face Melinda “Mindy” Pillow in the race to succeed Judge Clarence Seeliger. During the June elections, Parker-Smith received 75,589 votes, or 45.34 percent, and Pillow received 31,612 votes, or 18.996 percent in the five person race. 

Superior court judges preside over civil and criminal law cases including misdemeanors, contract disputes, premises liability, title to land, and felonies involving jury trials, including death penalty cases.

DeKalb County Board of Commissioners, District 1

Cynthia Yaxon and Robert Patrick were the top vote-getters on the Democratic ballot for the District 1 seat to the DeKalb County Board of Elections. In the four-person race, Yaxon received 34.26 percent, or 6,753 votes, and Patrick was narrowly behind, receiving 6,561 votes. 

The winner in the runoff election will face incumbent Nancy Jester in the General Election. Jester was the sole Republican candidate.

District 1 represents northernmost DeKalb County, which includes Doraville, Dunwoody and Tucker, and parts of Brookhaven and Chamblee.

DeKalb County Board of Commissioners, Super District 6

Former Clarkston Mayor Ted Terry is up against Maryam Ahmad after the two had close margins in the three-person Democrat race. Terry received 37.62 percent, 26,591 of votes, and Ahmad received 34.63 percent. There were no Republicans to qualify for the seat, thus the winner in the runoff election will replace Kathie Gannon, who did not seek reelection.

Super District 6 represents the western half of DeKalb County which includes portions of the city of Atlanta, Avondale Estates, Brookhaven, Chamblee, Clarkston, Decatur and Dunwoody.

DeKalb County Board of Education, District 3

Deirdre Pierce and Willie Mosley Jr. are competing in the runoff as the top two in the five-person race. Pierce received 42.26 percent of votes, or 9,899 votes, and Mosley Jr. received 27.22 percent or 6,377 votes. The winner of the runoff will replace Michael Erwin, who did not seek reelection.

District 3 represents schools in southwest DeKalb and includes parts of Avondale Estates, Ellenwood and Decatur.

Georgia House of Representatives, District 86

Incumbent Michele Henson and Zulma Lopez will faceoff after being the top vote-getters in the four-person Democratic race. Henson received 41.18 percent of votes and Lopez received 29.76 percent, or 3,355 votes. No Republican candidates qualified for the seat.

District 86 represents parts of Clarkston, Decatur, Stone Mountain and Tucker.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *