DeKalb announces all-county baseball teams

Redan Coderius Dorsey

The 2014 baseball season ended without a DeKalb team celebrating a state championship, but a few players celebrated post-season county awards.

The DeKalb County School District announced the awards for the 2014 1st All-County team, 2nd All-County team, All-County Defensive team, player of the year, pitcher of the year, coach of the year and field of the year.

Columbia was represented well on the 1st All-County team with five players receiving the honor. Catcher Ronald McGhee, infielder Trenton Nash, outfielder Keishaun Clark, pitcher Jalen Atterburry and Justin Washington were named to the 1st All-County team. Atterburry received the John Devore Pitcher of the Year award.

Tekwaan Whyte

Cedar Grove, Redan and Stephenson each had three players named to the 1st All-County Team. Infielder Deion Sellers, outfielder James Hartsfield and infielder Jenard Morris represented Cedar Grove. Sellers was also named Player of the Year.

Redan was represented by infielder James Nelson and pitchers Corderius Dorsey and Daren Osby; and Stephenson was represented by outfielder Harrison Moore, pitcher Marcus Young and Tekwaan Whyte.

Other members on the 1st All-County team included infielder Will Hudgins and pitcher Kevin Smith of Dunwoody, Lakeside catcher Bobby Tippett, Arabia Mountain infielder Jakobi Meyers, M.L. King outfielder Jordan Thomas, Decatur outfielder Zak Schulam, Tucker pitcher Jake Lovvorn and Kevin Wimbish from Southwest DeKalb.

Jalen Atterburry

The 2nd All-County team features Dunwoody’s Steve Gebhart, Steven Etcher and Chandler Dinsmore; Lakeside’s Jaret Barr, Brad Earnest and Will Cosby; Derrick Lewis and Austin Ledet of Druid Hills; M.L. King’s Bakari Gayle and Tyronn Walker; David Burke and Jordan Ballou of Stephenson; and Tucker’s Aaron Perry and Julian Sewell.

Also on the second team are Arabia Mountain’s Tim Card; Decatur’s Boyd Brim; Chamblee’s Malik Jones; Southwest DeKalb’s Malik White; and Messiah Feagin from Towers.

Burke, White, Gebhart, Earnest and Hartsfield were all named to the defensive team as well as Stephenson’s Jalen Robinson, Ryan Betts and Dexter Neal; M.L. King’s Bakari Gayle and Tyronn Walker; Southwest DeKalb’s Destin Diaz and Jason Davis; Tucker’s Booth Vogel; Chamblee’s Drew Henry; and Druid Hills’ Emaeus Thomas.

Stephenson head coach Marco Jackson was awarded the Marvin B. Pruitt Coach of the Year award and Tucker was awarded Field of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *