Early voting locations, election information updated

The DeKalb Board of Registration and Elections (DeKalb BRE) confirmed the location of 16 advance voting locations and gave additional updates ahead of the General Election.

Early voting will run at most of the DeKalb County advance voting locations weekdays 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.; Saturdays 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.; and Sundays noon to 5 p.m. from Oct. 17 through Nov. 4.
Two advance voting sites, Beulah Missionary Baptist Church in Decatur and the Clarkston Library, will be open Oct. 29 through Nov. 4.

Additional advanced voting locations include Berean Christian Church in Stone Mountain, Bessie Branham Recreation Center in Atlanta, County Line Ellenwood Library in Ellenwood, Dunwoody Library in Dunwoody, Emory University in Atlanta, North DeKalb Senior Center in Chamblee, Gallery at South DeKalb (South DeKalb Mall) in Decatur, the former Sam’s Club in Stonecrest, Tucker-Reid H. Cofer Library in Tucker, Wesley Chapel Library in Decatur, Wade Walker YMCA in Stone Mountain and two separate polling locations inside of the DeKalb Voter Registration and Elections Office (VRE) in Decatur.

Briarwood Recreation Center, Dunwoody Library, VRE, the former Sam’s Club in Stonecrest, and Tucker-Reid H. Cofer Library will also have drop boxes for absentee ballots.

“We are excited to offer expanded advance voting opportunities that are accessible to voters across the county,” said DeKalb VRE Executive Director Keisha Smith. “We are urging voters to make a plan to vote this election cycle. Whether you are voting by absentee ballot, taking advantage of early voting or casting your ballot on Election Day, please be sure to double check our drop box locations, advance voting sites and your designated Election Day voting site as some locations may have shifted.”

So far, DeKalb BRE officials have approved 14 Election Day polling place changes this year. Those changes include:
• The Clarkston Community Center precinct will be moved from the Clarkston Library to the Clarkston Community Center in Clarkston.
• The Coan Park Recreation Center precinct will move from Israel Missionary Baptist Church to Coan Park Recreation Center in Atlanta.
• The Tucker precinct will move from Tucker High School to Tucker First United Methodist Church in Tucker.
• Both Chamblee precincts will move from the Chamblee Library to the North DeKalb Senior Center in Chamblee.
• The Dunwoody precinct will move from the Dunwoody Library to The Church at Chapel Hill in Dunwoody.
• The Glenhaven precinct will move from Woodridge Elementary to Straight Life Church of God in Decatur.
• The E.L. Miller precinct will move from White Oak Hills Baptist Church to Eldridge L. Miller Elementary School in Stone Mountain.
• The Panola precinct will move from Redan Elementary School to St. Paul A.M.E. Church in Lithonia.
• The Pleasantdale Road precinct will move from Reid H. Cofer Library to Grace Church International in Atlanta.
• The Rock Chapel Road precinct will move from Princeton Elementary School to Antioch Missionary Baptist Church in Lithonia.
• The Rowland Road precinct will move from Rowland Elementary School to First St. Peter A.M.E. Church in Stone Mountain.
• The Snapfinger Road precinct will move from MLK Jr. High School to Solid Rock A.M.E. Zion Church in Decatur.
• The Snapfinger Road North precinct will move from Canby Lane Elementary School to Bethesda Cathedral in Decatur.
• The South Deshon precinct will move from Rock Chapel Elementary School to Stronghold Christian Church in Lithonia.
Election Day is Nov. 8.

The DeKalb County Board of Commissioners also made an election-related update when, on Sept. 13, commissioners approved a resolution to give four hours of paid time off to its employees to go vote.

“I’m proud to see DeKalb County leading on providing ‘PTO Holiday’ for our 6,000 plus employees to be able to vote and participate in their democracy,” tweeted DeKalb County Commissioner Ted Terry.

For more information, visit www.dekalbvotes.com.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *