Graduation nears; DeKalb valedictorians, salutatorians announced

The class of 2021 overcame barriers of completing a school year during a public health pandemic, navigating challenges of virtual learning and other changes and transitions.

After in-person graduation ceremonies were canceled last year due the coronavirus pandemic, DeKalb County School District will host 24 high school graduation ceremonies this year beginning Saturday, May 22 and continuing through Friday, May 28. Each year approximately 6,000 students graduate from the district, according to the district’s website.

Valedictorians and salutatorians were announced one week prior to graduations beginning. According to DCSD’s policy, the senior student with the highest cumulative grade point average is named the senior class valedictorian and the senior student with the second highest grade point average is named the salutatorian, determined after first semester grades have been posted to student grade histories.

If there is an exact tie for the highest grade-point average, co-valedictorians are also named; if there is an exact tie for the second highest grade-point average, co-salutatorians are identified.

Below is the list of DCSD high schools and their respective valedictorian(s) and salutatorian(s):

Arabia Mountain High School (Magnet): Makayla Johnson; Aderolawe Adeseye

Arabia Mountain High School (Resident): Ashanti Lawson; Ajah Hentz-Gilmore

Cedar Grove High School: Etimfon Bassey; Karentyn Jenkins

Chamblee Charter High School (Magnet): Matthew Lombardo; Victor Lim

Chamblee Charter High School (Resident): Richard Von Biberstein; Anika Karim, Molly Silverman

Clarkston High School: Kaylor Le; Selihom Araia

Columbia High School (Magnet): Makiya Walker; Camille Williams

Columbia High School (Resident): Chanelle Taylor; Zaniab Saccoh

Cross Keys High School: Uriel Castaneda; Jonathan Marquez

DeKalb Early College Academy: Moontashir Siam, Nirmala Niraula; Thang Huynh

DeKalb School of Arts: Willa Grace Pevey; Jasmine Yvette Ward, Nia Capers

Druid Hills High School: Rohit George; William Wainwright

Dunwoody High School: Megan Vander Wiele; Seung Joo Lee

Lakeside High School: Katherine Kim; Zakir Ahmedin

Lithonia High School: Mercedes Fyffe; Jordan Scott

Martin Luther King Jr. High School: Mariana Vega-Alvarez; Ariel McDowall

Miller Grove High School: Aniya Williamson; Gababa Hassan

Redan High School Mahamud Sheikh; Jadah Willis-Davis

Ronald E. McNair High School: Colby Sidwell; Luis Marcial Guzman

Southwest DeKalb High School (Magnet): Danielle Jones; Aniyah Lee

Southwest DeKalb High School (Resident): Amisha Martin; Alani Duncan

Stephenson High School: Marc Lewis; Mason Howard

Stone Mountain High School: Sandy Huynh; Soe Thiha

Tapestry Charter School: Kendra Holloway; Vincent Crosby

Towers High School: Yesenia Martinez; Morgan Mouzon

Tucker High School: Benen Chancey; Sofia Khemani

DCSD graduation ceremonies will also be live streamed. Information on graduation schedules and live streaming can be found at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *